EnGeoData: Environmental and Geo-spatial Data Analytics

Special session at 8th IEEE International Conference on Data Science and Advanced Analytics (DSAA 2021).

October 6 - 9, 2021

is an IEEE Special Session at

The analysis of environmental and geo-spatial (EnGeo) data is associated with two major challenges: 1) the integration of heterogenous data; and 2) the selection of the appropriate knowledge discovery process. The main objective of EnGeoData session is to provide high quality research facing both challenges with theoretical or experimental approaches.

Important dates:

  • May 23, 2021  Jun 6, 2021: Submission Date
  • July 25, 2021: Notification of Acceptance
  • August 8, 2021: Camera-ready papers due
  • October 6-9, 2021: DSAA (EnGeoData Session)

Call for papers

Topics of interest include (but are not limited to):

  • Pre and post processing of environmental data
  • Geographical information retrieval
  • Spatial data mining, spatial data warehousing, and spatial data lake
  • Knowledge discovery use-cases applied to environmental data
  • Spatial text mining
  • Spatial ontology
  • Spatial recommendation and personalization
  • Visual analytics for geo-spatial data
  • Dedicated applications:
    • Spatio-temporal analytics platform
    • Agricultural decision support systems
    • Urban traffic systems
    • Trajectory analysis
    • Land-use and urban policies
    • Land-use and urban planning analysis
    • Spatio-temporal analysis in ecology and agriculture
    • Disease surveillance systems (One Health)


Submissions to this special session as well as the main conference should be made to CMT: https://cmt3.research.microsoft.com/DSAA2021

Proceedings, Indexing:

All accepted full-length papers will be published by IEEE and will be submitted for inclusion in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

Formatting, Length, Policy:

The paper length allowed for the paper is a maximum of ten (10) pages. The format of papers is the standard 2-column U.S. letter style IEEE Conference template. See the IEEE Proceedings Author Guidelines: https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html for further information and instructions. All submissions will be blind reviewed by the Program Committee on the basis of technical quality, relevance to the conference’s topics of interest, originality, significance, and clarity. Author names and affiliations must not appear in the submissions, and bibliographic references must be adjusted to preserve author anonymity. Submissions failing to comply with paper formatting and authors anonymity will be rejected without reviews.

Program committee

  • Hugo Alatrista-Salas, Universidad del Pacifico, Peru
  • Cesar Beltran-Castañon, Pontifical Catholic University of Peru
  • Fernando Birra, New University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Carmen Brando, EHESS, France
  • Mete Celik, Erciyes Üniversitesi, Turkey
  • Jessica Dafflon, National Institutes of Health, USA
  • Nuno Datia, ISEL, Portugal
  • Catherine Dominguès, IGN, France
  • Martin Dominguez, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina
  • Jacinto Estima, INESC-ID and Instituto Politécnico de Setúbal, Portugal
  • Jacques Fize, Insa Lyon, France
  • Cidália Fonte, University of Coimbra - INESC Coimbra, Portugal
  • Darian Frajberg, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Olga Gkountouna, George Mason University, USA
  • Cédric Grueau, Setúbal Polytechnic Institute, Portugal
  • Diana Inkpen, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Florence Le Ber, Université de Strasbourg - ENGEES, France
  • Ron Mahabir, George Mason University, USA
  • Bruno Martins, IST and INESC-ID - University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • David McMeekin, Curtin University, Australia
  • Federico Milani, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Rocio Nahime Torres, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Miguel Nunez-del-Prado, Universidad del Pacifico, Peru
  • Marco Painho, Nova Information Management School, Portugal
  • Charlotte Pelletier, Université de Bretagne du Sud, France
  • Justine Reynaud, Normandie Univ - UNICAEN, France
  • Christian Sallaberry, UPPA, France
  • Lucile Sautot, AgroParisTech, France
  • Alan Valejo, Federal University of São Carlos, Brazil
  • Jorge Valverde-Rebaza, Visibilia, Brazil
  • Xin Wang, University of Calgary, Canada
  • Sarah Zenasni, ICube, Strasbourg University, France


  • Antonio Lossio-Ventura, National Institutes of Health, USA
  • Mathieu Roche, Cirad, TETIS, France
  • Maguelonne Teisseire, INRAE, TETIS, France

Contact us

For questions, please contact us at engeodata@teledetection.fr